Member Clubs

mbop logoMBOP-pic
Now known as MotorSport Bay of Plenty Inc, the club evolved from the three previous motorsport clubs that had been very active in the area since 1948 Mt Maunganui Car Club, Tauranga Car Club and the Baypark Supporters Club. These clubs conveniently divided up the sport among themselves and existed in wonderful harmony. We were blessed in those days with the International Baypark Raceway.

Sadly, as a result of rising land prices and noise restrictions, Bay Park Raceway eventually yielded and the sport diminished in popularity. Around 1994 the combined membership of the clubs dwindled and they slipped into recession. A number of attempts to amalgamate the clubs failed until in 1996 a core group of motorsport enthusiasts held a meeting and determined that a new club would be formed. That club became Tauranga Mount Motorsport Club. Following negotiations with the few remaining members of the old Tauranga and Mount Maunganui Clubs, the substantial assets and trophies of those organisations were formally absorbed into the new entity. In 2008, by unanimous vote of the members of the club, we adopted our new name, MotorSport Bay of Plenty.

As the TECT All Terrain Park came to fruition. MBOP, although having been the lead club during the early negotiations with Council, felt that the promotion and management of the motorsport zone within the TECT Park would be better done by a governing body made up of all the clubs who were likely to be involved. In 2011, all the hard work culminated in a meeting of motorsports clubs, where MBOP became one of the founding members of Te Matai Motorsport Inc. 


Bayoffroaders 1
Offroading is a spectacular high speed motorsport which is often described as ... "Motorcross on 4 wheels".

The sport consists of 8 different classes of vehicles ranging from entry level "Kids Karts" (6-16yrs) to 500+ horsepower, 200kph fire breathing monsters.

"Offroading" is governed by a National Body -"ORANZ" (Offroad Association of New Zealand). There are ten regional clubs with approximately 250 individual members. ORANZ has a National Series which consists of 3 rounds in each island and a National Final which alternates between the North and South Island.

Clubs have many stand-alone events ranging from casual "club" days to the longest Offroad Endurance Event in the Southern Hemisphere -The Taupo 1000 - which is held every two years in the Kaiangaroa Forest east of Taupo, consisting of 1000kms of racing over two days.

The Local perspective:
Bay Offroad Racing Club merged with Waikato Offroad Racing Club.  The combined club has created a short course track at the Park that is utilised for regular events and practice days.  This track provides a base from where we can host Club Days through to National Rounds and eventually apply to host a National Final which attracts up to 300 people.    

boprccc-pic    boprccc-pic2

Bay of Plenty Radio Control Car Club (BOPRCCC) is a newly established club for the radio control car enthusiast in the Bay of Plenty area. Sanctioned by New Zealand's governing body, the New Zealand Radio Control Car Association, BOPRCCC has rules and regulations that cater for the majority of competition cars available on the market today. From 1/4 to 1/20th scale cars that race indoor at the Tauranga Airport Hangers, to electric 1/10th scale off-road cars and 1/8th scale off-road nitro powered monsters racing at the club's very own new purpose built tracks at Te Matai Motorsport in the TECT All Terrain Park. There are options for everyone.

All members of the club must abide by the BOPRCCC Rulebook . If you're unsure of anything, please don't hesitate to contact us or check out our forum under  for club meeting dates, etc

Contact:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.